16 States Introduce Legislation to Ban Shariah Law

Alabama became the latest state to ban Shariah law when voters passed a measure adding an amendment to the state constitution. CAIR said that the motion was “virulently racist” and “outright hostility towards Muslims.” Alabamans apparently didn’t care what they said.

Either way, Shariah doesn’t exactly have a good brand image. Perhaps it’s the pre-16th century vibe that the stoning of women and chopping off of hands creates. Perhaps it’s the fact that Shariah has been used in American courtrooms — specifically in Florida, where a judge allowed Muslim law to supersede American law in a dispute over mosque funds.

CAIR identified 16 states as having introduced legislation to ban or restrict Shariah law in 2013. The list is supposed to be meant as a condemnation of these states. However, I know plenty of people who would use such a list as a guide for where to move. The states are:

  1. Alabama (two bills)
  2. Arkansas
  3. Florida (two bills)
  4. Indiana (two bills)
  5. Iowa
  6. Kentucky
  7. Mississippi (four bills)
  8. Missouri (two bills)
  9. North Carolina
  10. Oklahoma (seven bills)
  11. South Carolina (two bills)
  12. Texas (six bills)
  13. Virginia
  14. Washington
  15. West Virginia
  16. Wyoming (two bills)

And hopefully in 2015, the list will get longer. Maybe someday we can even list all 50 states.

Facebook Comments